Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a rising trend in sharing personal information with companies in order to use the software. Although this can help one to access the application and create a virtual network with people around the world, I believe that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits, because it results in the spilling of private data which could be misused. Most people are using many social networking applications such as Facebook, Whatsapp and Instagram. Undoubtedly, these bring families together though they are physically apart. Through video calling facility, we can talk to our families and friends as though we are under the same roof. we can even make friends with whom we have never met before. However, this comes at the cost of sharing our personal information with an organization that develops such web applications which is very alarming. This information can be used by anybody in future that can result in jeopardy. Furthermore, people are unconsciously signing up the user-agreement page even without reading it completely just for the sake of getting access to applications. For instance, an average of 200 billion people uses Whatsapp messenger to communicate with others, which means that they have accepted to compromise their personal information in exchange for access to it. Recently, the company announced that all of the conversations can be used for other businesses and when agitation aroused among the public, they clarified that only business user's accounts will be monitored and sold for other business purposes. This clearly proves that anybody can hack one's secrets which include bank account details, family pictures, videos and so on. In conclusion, although software allows human to be bonded and engaged in many aspects, the sharing of one's private data to get access to mobile applications can be detrimental to one's personal life. For these reasons, the negatives far outnumber the positives.