Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a vast majority of people who agree that high levels of violence on the screen are deeply rooted in the levels of violence we experiment in our communities every day. Although it may seem there is a general consensus regarding this matter, others differ and claim that different social issues are at the core of this problem. I strongly agree with the latter assertion and think that only children are sometimes affected by the violence seen on the television or the internet. Judging from the way that levels of violence in the media are constantly on the rise, it is fair to think that youngster can be greatly influenced by this phenomenon. It seems that a transition from a traditional population to a more open mindset is a primary objective in today's media. Thus, this transition has brought adverse effects to a marginal part of our society including children, when limits and monitoring in the time spent watching television are not properly imposed. For instance, it can be seen that some minors change their behaviour after watching long hours of violent cartoons or movies. Nevertheless, this only affects a small group of our society and not the majority, because an old person mind is not really easy to manipulate. On the other hand, violence might derive from high levels of unemployment and poverty along with the lack of a proper educational system. That is to say when a person does not have anything to eat or any job opportunity might indulge in some detrimental habits for our society such as robbery and murder in exchange for any sum of money, albeit unjustifiable. For example, existing research has shown that levels of delinquency are always higher in poorer countries where the majority of the population is not engaged in a formal job. Therefore, I take the view that the effects of the lack of governments and developed industries cooperation to provide people with better opportunities are greatly superior to any violent exposure in the media. To sum up, although the violence exposed on television and the web might sometimes affect children's behaviour, I think that other social issues can cause an enormous negative impact on society. To combat this violence issue, governments should develop strategies that provide their nation with greater chances for further social development.