In many countries, paying for the things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Today's technology is rapidly developing. It is especially visible in the improvement of the banking systems. Banks all over the world are digitalizing by implementing not only cashless but also cardless payments. Nowadays, it is possible to pay via an app on your mobile phone in a lot of countries. What is more, usage of such apps has become common. Although I can see a lot of advantages brought by this solution, I would argue that they do not outweigh the disadvantages. I shall discuss both sides of this argument. One of the main advantages of paying via cellphone is comfort. A phone is much handier and it is always within our reach. A lot of women stand in front of the cashier for ages before they finally find a wallet in their big purse. In addition to that, banking apps are very easy to use. This encourages new users including those less familiar with new technologies. On the other hand, people tend to spend too much money because of how easy it is to pay via mobile phone. Psychologically, it is much harder to spend tangible money that we can count and see. Furthermore, using apps that allow for mobile payments requires storing sensitive data on the mobile phone. Therefore, people are more susceptible to potential data theft. To conclude, THE phenomenon of paying by mobile phone apps has its pros and cons. This payment method has proven itself TO BE very comfy and user-friendly. However, such facilitation can be tempting to spend more money than we actually need. Moreover, paying via phone may also be dangerous if we are not cautious enough with our data privacy. All in all, I believe that paying for stuff using mobile phone apps has more disadvantages than advantages.