Tourism has emerged as one of the biggest industries of this decade, but its disadvantages cannot be overlooked. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the tourism industry is booming in so many countries. Tourism includes the leisure activities of people to travelling and staying in outside places from their local area/environment. The tourism industry is an organization, which arrange these activities for its tourists. The main reason behind the development of the tourism business is the enhancement of technology which helps people to travel the world with great transportation facility. As every coin has two sides, the tourism industry has also its merits and demerits. On the first side, the tourism industry plays an important role in raising the economy of the country. It helps the people by providing them with a job opportunity such as a tourist guide of their local area and in the hospitality sector. Then, it helps the visitor to know about the historical culture, religion and language of other countries/places. After that, it also creates more demand for local food. Moreover, it enhances the value of one’s culture to the entire world. Furthermore, it helps to create a better understanding between two or more cultures at the same time. In addition to it, it also improves the living standard of the tourism area. On the flip side, there are some negative impacts on the tourism industry too. First of all, it destroys the natural beauty of tourism places as a visitor through waste material such as wraps, cans etcetera. Secondly, as tourism is a seasonal activity, it leads the temporary jobs only. After this, it creates an environmental issue related to air and noise pollution and also effects on transportation systems which in results traffic jams too because of more vehicles on road. Besides that, some visitors make fun of the tradition and local culture, which in results conflicts between people. Sometimes the tourists face harassment by the reason of some criminal and theft-related activities. To Summarize, according to me although positive factors of the tourism industry are acceptable as a source of revenue for the country/nation, its negative impacts cannot be ignored by any chance.