Some people believe that it's fairer to assess a students ability based on their performance during the whole course rather than giving a formal examination at the end of the course. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An important part of a school curriculum is the evaluation of the pupil's performance. There have been two models that teaching institutes follow to measure the performance of individuals throughout the curriculum and a final exam at the end of the subject's addendum to evaluate the student on the whole course material. These mentioned methods do carry pros and cons when it comes to grading a pupil's knowledge which this written piece will discuss. Periodic assessments that are taken along the course term stretch the percentage across multiple quizzes and practicals. This has a couple of benefits. Firstly,it makes the assignment less stressful for students to prepare for as they have to study particular topics and do not have to memorize a lot. Finally, these tests carry a less overall weightage to make up the final grading which implies failing on one test would not have a. For example, if a test is 10% of the overall grade and there are 10 tests in the addendum, then failing or getting a bad score on it will only cost you 10%. You will still have 9 more opportunities to attain a good mark on the subject. Although this way of calculating performance has some advantages, it does have a drawback. Since the assessments are based on just a certain part of the book taught, students might not be tested on the whole material of the course. On the other hand, testing just once the entire schedule of the program can lead to an individual utilising the concepts taught throughout the classes and solve complex problems. This will increase their creativity as well as problem-solving skills. However, if a student misses his or her last evaluation can lead to failure in that subject as it carries a heavy weightage. To conclude, having a combination of both periodic testing and a concluding test can benefit the students to put their skills and knowledge attained in to practice effectively. This will make them less stressed as the percentage awarded per assessment is evenly distributed and they have a chance to put all the resources learned into a single problem at the end of the curriculum.