In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think this books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion about crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

In recent years it is become increasingly popular to watch criminal series and read crime novels. There are some blatant reasons for their popularity and I will discuss them in the following paragraphs and enforce with my own opinion. To begin with, since the entertainment industry was developed the bloody massacre scenes and descriptions were desirable amongst the public. For example, in Medieval times the punishments were gathering all the city’s citizens and for decades this was a main recreational activity for all age groups. Hence this is part of every live being's psychology. For instance, a recent survey conducted by an authorized magazine revealed that 90% of respondents find human killing scenes disgusting but they were enchanted by them and could not keep their eyes away from them. Unfortunately, scientists cannot explain such behaviour and I am absolutely sure that roots are in people’s instincts from prehistoric times. By contrast, criminal literature and TV series usually are only fiction and do not carry any harm to the spectators. Crime scenes can not only entertain the public but also help some people to overcome some fears and phobias. For instance, in all detective stories in the final acts main hero always defeats all evil. These facts can help some individuals to feel protected. Furthermore, in my opinion, nowadays people are more civilized and these shows are some sort of relicts and habits and there is only every individual’s choice how to entertain himself or herself. Finally, I am absolutely sure that TV crime series and detective novels are anachronistic but people watch and read them by the power of habit.