nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for companies and organization.

In recent decades, the majority of people prefer to run their own businesses, not work for companies. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend as well as the drawbacks of being self-employed. On the one hand, being reluctant to work for others has some rational reasons. To begin with, for example, despite the fact that office jobs offer a fixed monthly salary and some perks, they do not have flexible hours and employees cannot have work-life balance as they are trapped in a strict timetable. Moreover, there might not be quick promotion prospects and workers might circle around themselves, and do some monotonous responsibilities. Thus, some of them believe that it is not worth wasting a lot of precious time even if the job provides them with reasonable job security. On the other hand, regardless of several advantages of self-employment, it might have a few detrimental implications. One of the main drawbacks is that running a business has a risk of failure and bankruptcy. By way of example, one of my friends went bankrupt and lost a great deal of money when he could not pay the debts of a number of big companies. Consequently, he ended up with depression and a nervous breakdown. Sometimes failures might be the result of the lack of appropriate planning such as finding a target market, trying to explore some methods in order to attract customers and increase the rate of their satisfaction, and finding a way to set your business apart from other competitors. Another downside of being your own boss is that you might have to bear a heavy workload and be occupied. Therefore, you might not be able to allocate enough time for your family and friends. In conclusion, both being employed by an organization or a company and being self-employed have some adverse influences. It depends on individuals' preferences and interests to choose which kinds of occupations.