The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages and disadvantages of convenience food?

There has been a dramatic change in the life of the masses for years as they are becoming busier. Owing to this, the demand for ready-made food is escalating in order to maintain hectic schedules. This essay will assert the merits and drawbacks of packaged items in subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, the major advantage of convenience food is that it saves time as compared to cooking which consumes a lot of time and energy. These kinds of food requires very few steps to be prepared. As a result, people can utilize this time in other recreational activities. Additionally, paced foods are easily portable especially, in travelling. There is no threat of spilling of cooked meal in backpack as these products are perfectly packed and handy to travel with. To exemplify, if an individual is ready to commute to a particular place, then these type of items are extremely beneficial for them as there would not be any need to cook the meals before travelling. On the paradoxical side, there are a plethora of demerits of convenience goods. Firstly, packaged goods are generally harmful to health as numerous preservatives are being used to incline the life of these items. Thus, excessive consumption of this puts a detrimental effect on the health of people. Secondly, these products give a major contribution in producing pollution as mostly these kinds of meals are packed in plastic containers which are toxic for the environment and non-biodegradable in nature. To cite an example, according to a survey by a leading newspaper, it has been estimated that 85% of garbage has been increased in tourist destinations after the invention of preserved foods. To recapitulate, although, ready-to-make products consume less time to prepare and can be easily carried while on a trip however, simultaneously, it puts a deleterious effect on one's health, if these are eaten excessively and also it adds in polluting the surroundings.