In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

It is undeniable that the crime based books and drama series are becoming increasingly popular in the majority of communities across the globe. These types of programmes are popular mainly due to the demands of the local viewers as well as the role of the media that is established in a particular society. To begin with, the adaptation of such storylines in popular media and novels are purely based on the demand of the audience or readers. In other words, the human brain easily attracts visuals consist of action and dramatic elements. For example, the research conducted by Harvard University reports that 65% of people prefer watching criminal storylines compared to any other genres in the popular media. In fact, the reason for such categories to become popular in many countries. In addition, media organizations have persuaded society to watch or read these types of productions. Hence, with continuous promotions on television and in newspapers, people are motivated to watch or read crime-based stories. In my opinion, I strongly believe that this trend would cause a myriad of detrimental consequences to nations. First and foremost, such a category of genres should not be promoted as it would promote violence within communities. Secondly, a proportion of illiterate people might adapt violent scenarios to real-life situations. Finally, crime fiction does not promote happiness. As a result, it would lead to creating a society full of hatred and unhappiness. In conclusion, violence based stories are becoming popular among many societies. Hence, both viewers and media are equally responsible for this trend. I strongly believe that countries would face negative consequences if actions are not taken to curb this matter.