University students must pay all tuition fees, because it benefits mostly them individually, rather than the society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether learners should be paying full costcost of higher education is a matter of concern for many. Critics argue that students paying can help society in many ways such as maintaining the campus, paying teachers, etc, however others and I believe the opposite. This will discuss the reason why students should pay zero tuition fee by using examples from New Scientist UK magazine and British Medical Journal. Firstly, most universities around the world have raised their cost of education that has made higher education undesirable for many. For instance, a recent study by New Scientist UK magazine, found one- third of youngsters do not apply to higher institutes as they can afford to pay the tuition fees. Based on this study, it can be deduced that many learners do not want to proceed to universities due to the high costcost of education which does not help the public, as there is a risk of shortage of key workers in the country such as teachers, doctors who require to be taught at higher levels. Therefore, if the cost of universities kept surging it will only lead to a decline in graduating students. In addition to the low number of graduates, another reason why students should not pay the full cost of education is because there is a possible risk of enormous debt-related mental health problems. For example, a study done in 2019 by British Medical Journal found that one- third of British graduates are inclined to suffer from conditions such as depression and anxiety in comparison to Finnish students. Finland provides free higher learning, and hence students graduating from their schools are less likely to have psychological conditions. So if UK universities want to lower the risk of mental health conditions in young learners, they should consider using Finland way of teaching. To conclude from the aforementioned examples, I firmly believe, educational is essential to all, however many do not end up going to universities due to high cost of learning and being in serious debts.