Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

Giving the fact that leaving litter in urban areas has become a contemporary problem, some could argue that the perpetrators should be highly fined for this in order to stop them from doing so. In my opinion, fining those who keep littering is not the solution to this issue, as paying the fine will not make them realize that this is wrong. I will explain further my idea throughout the essay. It is true that steeper fines could be a solution at the start. The fine solution is able to make desist people from committing major crimes, such as stealing or vandalism actions. Some people think that this is why many crimes are avoided because people do not want to lose money if they are caught on doing sometime illegal or against the law. For example, after smoking in public places has been prohibited, people kept doing so, as they were not punished. But, when the law put the fine on smoking indoor, suddenly people stopped doing it. On the other hand, this kind of punishment is not efficient in the long term. In other words, fine people could help to reduce the phenomenon of leaving litter in cities, but it cannot guarantee that people will stop in the future. Apparently, people who are fined do not understand the reason why they are, and for this reason, they are mostly like to repeat the same error over and over. It is a better way to give them the opportunity to understand why they are doing something wrong, so as to teach them a lesson. This is very close to something that happened to me. I passed the red light while I was cycling, and a police person stopped me, but instead of fine me, he enrolled me in an online course that explained why it is wrong to pass when there is a red light. From that moment on I stopped doing it as I realized To conclude, after having explained both viewpoints, I strongly believe that people should no receive a stepper fine for leaving rubbish in metropolitan areas, but it would be more beneficial to help them be conscious of why they are wrong and what they can do. By doing this not only it people will not only be more likely to stop this habit, but also make them realize what is right.