Some people think governments should spend money on faster means of public transport. However, others think money should be spent on other priorities (e.g. cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people think that the government should invest more resources in upgrading the public transportation system, whereas, I agree with those who hold the opinion that much more emphasis should be placed on other dominants such as cost, environment, etc. On the one hand, it is justified why some individuals advocate the view that public money should be spent on enhancing the traffic infrastructure. Firstly, this will minimize the problem of traffic congestion in the cities. Instead of taking private vehicles including cars or motorbikes, using modern commuting transport helps to reduce the frequent traffic jams. Secondly, infrastructure improvement contributes to a reduction in air pollution levels. The fewer private vehicles, the less toxic fumes are discharged into the atmosphere, which could help people avoid the risk of suffering from respiratory diseases. On the other hand, I believe that governments should put more resources into other priorities such as the medical industry and education which have a more direct impact on the population. There is a need for national authorities to improve the healthcare system by allocating resources to hospitals and clinics, especially for poor people in some remote areas. This could reduce the financial burden on dwellers who would resort to costly private healthcare services. Similarly, an investment in education also ensures the future for the next generations. More specifically, the state budget should be raised for not only better educational facilities but also for acquiring more well-trained professionals for teaching. Therefore, young children who are well-equipped with the necessary knowledge and skills for personal growth in an advanced learning environment will be more likely to become up-and-coming talent. In conclusion, although the investment in public transportation presents certain advantages, I still believe that it is more beneficial to spend money on other fields like education and medicine.