Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Import should be avoided wherever possible, and every country should be self-sufficient with regard to the quantity of food produced. There are several reasons why I believe this should be done. The most important reason is that by eating locally, food transport is not needed, thus, less petrol is consumed and in turn, the rate of air pollution is significantly reduced. Less pollution means fewer cases of respiratory diseases such as asthma and bronchitis and an overall increased sense of well being. Another reason why I am in favour of this idea is that by not having to add the shipping cost, the food would be much cheaper. Some products nowadays are imported from countries that are tens of thousands of miles away. For instance, China coupled with its recent economic boom has started to import Brazilian beef, the distance between China and Brazil is about ten thousand miles. With a simple calculation, it is easy to understand that an important sum could be saved if the Chinese remained to their previous food tastes. A final reason is the quality of the food. Local produce tends to be of higher quality, therefore, tastes better. Crops are sometimes harvested before they ripen. This causes a lack of nutrients in the crops because, since the moment the crop is cut from the rest of the plant, it does not receive nutrients anymore. This means that a vine of tomatoes, for example, can ripen while being transported so that they are ripe while in the sale, which is great for business. In conclusion, I strongly support the idea of countries trying as much as possible to eat only the food produced by themselves as this would reduce air pollution and would ensure the food is cheaper and tastier, compared to imported one.