A job for life is no longer a reality. Many people are now employed on short-term contracts. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this kind of employment for employees?

Back in the day, people usually have one job throughout their lives. In this particular job, they will gain a certain career path which can guarantee their future. Whereas, as of now, most of society works based on contracts. They mostly jump from one company to another. Consequently, they can earn faster promotions & a better salary. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages & disadvantages of both sides. To start with, having a job for life does come in handy. As a matter of fact, most people would want a reliable income. For instance, here in Indonesia, people are dreaming of working for the government through BUMN. In BUMN companies, you can get your life ensured, even when you are retired. However, it requires you to start climbing the ladder from the very lowest. Consequently, it might take you longer to reach a high financial level. Furthermore, you will have to stay committed, there are some rules that you might have to follow. Such as if you work for the Minister of Tax here in Indonesia, you are not allowed to open side businesses and so on. Meanwhile, working based on contracts would also provide you with some benefits. It does not have you on a leash. You are free to do things of your free will. In particular, if you ever want to change your field and move to another company, you can simply do after the contract ends. You might also start in the next company with a higher salary. Nevertheless, there are also some disadvantages. You might have uncertain retirement days. In other words, you should be very careful of your financial management. In conclusion, one job for life or contracts, both have their benefits & contradictions. It is up to the worker's preference & situations to choose.