Some people think children should attend extra classes after school,while others disagree.Discuss both opinions and give your own view.

Today, we belong to an era of cut-throat competition. Parents want their children to excel in academics. That is why some parents arrange for tuitions outside class hours. Other people, however, are opposed to tuitions only if their child is struggling at school and needs extra help. There are many reasons why some people are in favour of private tuitions in the after school hours. Firstly, private tutors can re-explain the topics learnt in the class and reiterate key points and help to solve problems students find difficult to tackle. Secondly, allocating time for private tuition reduces their spent in useless pursuits such as chatting with friends and watching TV. Furthermore, private tutors can keep the students focussed on study. A private tutor can thus enact the role of disciplinarian. On other hand, having private tuition also has its disadvantages. Sometimes tutors prescribe additional homework in addition to that given by teachers in school. The extra homework from tutor is an added burden to the students. Moreover, private tuition can be a financial burden to parents who are poor. Additionally, some students just use these extra tuitions to finish their homework given by schools with the help of tutors without thinking through the solutions by themselves. I believe that when student is a slow learner who needs a tutor outside school, tuition is very necessary. However, there are some parents who have unreasonable expectations. They insist that their children engage a private tutor even though their children perform well academically. This is not good at all because children need time for other activities also. In conclusion, it is good to have private tution, provided the student really needs one and the parents can afford it. However, if the student is already doing well in school, then he should be allowed to follow other pursuits.