Some people believe that it is best accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are various occasions in our life that we have to encounter unfavourable situations such as financial hardships and distress in one ’s occupation. While some say that it is best to accept these downfalls; others, including,myself argue that it is much more efficient to try to endeavour these hardships. Admittedly, on some occasions, it is very challenging to make an effort to improve such situations due to extreme conditions such as famine and poverty, leaving acceptance as the only solution. For example, a person in a third world country living with an income under the International Poverty Line only has less than US$1 per day to spend on their necessities. Moreover, they typically tend to have a family to feed, and their income is barely sufficient to feed even themselves. Accepting their situation can be beneficial for these individuals rather than being in denial of the severity of the condition they are in. It also encourages them to appreciate the small things they have, instead of worrying about what they don’t have, reducing potential anxieties they tend to experience. Therefore, in these, situations one should focus on survival before attempting to improve their situation. However, if one simply accepts the fact that they are in a dire condition and doesn’t actively take steps forward to improve it, they are likely to be stuck in the same situation for a long period, and in some unfortunate instances, for a lifetime. Consider this through continuing a job that you are not happy doing. This can affect both one ’s mental and physical health, putting them into a position where they cannot work at all. Numerous researches have shown that pursuing a task that one is not passionate about can lead to stress, anxiety and depression. Furthermore, it can increase the risks of fatal chronic conditions such as high blood pressure. One should prioritise their needs, health and happiness over their occupation. Hence, they should either communicate with their supervisors and resolve the issues they have or find another job that is less stressful, and they feel comfortable doing. Overall, this can reap many positive results for the individual as a whole instead of mere acceptance. To conclude, everyone tends to come across various situations they feel uncomfortable in their life. After one has accepted that this condition has a negative impact on them, they should start planning on how to make it better for themselves, rather than not taking action at all. Thus, I believe that this is the best way to tackle such a condition.