Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many counties. What are the causes of this and how can the problem be managed.

It has been reported that the percentage of childhood obesity in numerous countries have increased at an an alarming rate. In this essay, I will discuss two factors that are the leading course for the growth in childhood obesity and suggest ways to improve the situation. Childhood obesity is caused by two things. The first is simply the sendentary lifestyle that most children have adubted adapted in the last decade. Children would rather prefer being in front of the telelvision watching their favourite show, or in front of their mobile or computer device, or even play video games then spending time outside doing exercise. All of these electronic devices have slowed caused an addiction for the youngsters. Resent studies in the UK have indicated that children would rather play video games with their friends then playing a sport match outside. The other factor, is children eat much more junk food now then in the past. This is due the fact that both parents nowadays are working and it is much more convenient to purchase fast food after work then having to still prepare dinner after a long day at the office. Both the sendantary lifestyle and eating unhealthy food contributes to childhood obesity. There are, however, some options to alleviate the problems caused by childhood obesity, and both involve the education system. One is to incorporate more exercise activities during in their school timetable. Instead, of offering children to opportunity to participate in sport activities after school, the school should lengthen their school day by one hour which will be spend doing exercises. Another, solution is that the school provide the children with a balanced meal during lunch break. This will ensure that the children receive the nutrients that their body for growth development. If the education system incorporate these changes in the school system then children will learn healthy habits that they would contribute to their physical and mental wellbeing. In conclusion, even though child obesity seems to be inevitable part of modern life, it need not be. With creative thinking and investment from the education system, the situation could be improved.