In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development has more advantages or disadvantages?

It becoming more popular worldwide to use smartphone applications to pay for goods in stores and bills in restaurants. This development has both merits and demerits and I will provide a proper review of them in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, this is really convenient for users to pay for everything with one device. Also, this tendency makes it unnecessary to take cash and credit with you which decreases your chances to be burgled. For instance, according to last surveys conducted in Moscow, Russia, usage of NFC payment systems like GooglePay, SamsungPay, and ApplePay lessened the number of small crimes by 20%. Not only safety reasons but also beneficial ones should also need to be reviewed. NFC payment systems encourage their users with additional bonuses like cashback and discount which makes them not only convenient but also profitable. On the other hand, distant pay services security is a rather new field for most of the countries which makes them very attractive for different types of frauds and impostors. For instance, the prevailing part of NFC devices does not need to confirm for operations that less than 25$. This leads to an increase in internet crime rates. Furthermore, electronic devices need electricity to operate which makes them useless when they are out of charge. This fact could make the consumer helpless and leave him with no funds. In addition, distant payment services are only available in big cities which makes all these devices useless in rural areas. In sum, modern payment developments are convenient and user-friendly but should be protected properly and be combined with older payment services.