In modern societies, it is possible for people to go shopping, work and communicate via the internet without face-to-face communication. Is it a positive or negative development?

The advancement in technology has uncertainly changed people’s lifestyle. Nowadays people are able to do their shopping, work and communicate with each other via the internet. In my opinion, while there are some drawbacks of having less facial communication, I believe there are also clear positive aspects of this trend. There is no denying that individuals can save time and money with the use of the Internet. To begin with, people can contact a person or conduct meetings by using the network tools which are mostly free, such as WeChat, QQ, ZOMM, etc. so they can be more flexible in working hours. As for online shopping, it is more convenient and effective to purchase everything through the internet since we have massive options of goods and we can order them on a computer without leaving our homes. Admittedly, this trend has many benefits, but there are some problems that should not be ignored. Firstly, the relationship between citizens will become more alienated without adequate face-to-face communication. Secondly, it will put a threat on our social skills since they all get addicted to network life and have less opportunity to talk to someone. Lastly, under this influence, it is much possible for people, especially for young teenagers, to feel lonely and isolated because their emotional needs cannot be satisfied without communicating with their friends and families. In conclusion, it is a positive development for us to have so many choices for communication, meanwhile,we need to pay more attention to the potential negative effects it brings to us.