Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People are divided in their opinion regarding the extinction of endangered species as the principal environmental issue in contemporary history. As far as I am concerned, people have to be strongly concerned about the loss of certain species as I believe it is currently the primary environmental problem. As a matter of fact, the fall in the number of species currently existing is a threat for the safety of our entire ecosystem. During the last decades, more and more species are in danger due to the climate change that is destroying most of the habitats of a lot of animals and plants. Just thinking of melting glaciers is leading lots of polar bears to death. As a consequence, the depletion in the variety of living species threatens biodiversity, causing irreversible damages also for humans. For instance, the extinction of bees could affect the production of a lot of plants that are a vital source of nourishment for people. On the other hand, many support the view that there are more worrying threats for the environment to be worried about. Indeed, our ecosystem is also affected by overfishing, air and environmental pollution, soil erosion or massive deforestation. Surely, they can’t be ignored, but I think that we have to worry about that because all of them led to the…. In conclusion, from my point of view, while our safety as humans is threatened by an incredible amount of differents problems, we really have to preserve species richness, because losing part of them is a signal that the world is no longer a safe place to live, and if now it is for panda, bears and so on, it will be dangerous soon also for humans.