In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

Some people have a belief that income earned by them should not be taxed by the nation, but should instead be retained by themselves. I unequivocally disagree with such an opinion because non-payment of tax results in severe damage to welfare facilities, and it also increases inequality. The first reason for my disagreement is that, without the payment of tax, there would be terrible welfare facilities such as poor infrastructure, appalling medical services, and inferior education. This is because these are dependent on revenue generated by the government. Lower tax collection results in a shortage of money and, as a consequence, running, maintaining, and improving social amenities becomes challenging. For example, the United States of America reported last year that its highway projects, meant for easing congestion, had to be discontinued due to a lack of sufficient funds. A further reason is that non-collection of tax means the rich get richer and the poor get poorer. The fundamental objective of tax collection is to collect money from the rich and distribute it among the poor by way of welfare schemes. Not doing so reduces the funds available to the state, driving lower-income people to spend more money on basic necessities, which further lowers their income. For instance, a study from the University of Dubai revealed that inequality increased by 23% in the year 2019 compared to 2018 in Gulf nations due to the lack of a taxation system. In conclusion, I firmly believe that non-collection of taxes by the administration leads to severe consequences socially and, therefore, people should change their attitude towards funds and tax. 2