Details of politicians’ private lives should not be published in newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that newspapers should not be allowed to publish any information about politicians’s private lives. This essay completely agrees with that statement, mainly due to the fundamental right for privacy and the potential damage to the politicians’s family members. First and foremost, I believe that every individual, including politicians, should have the right for privacy. Even though the politicians’s goal is to serve their society and must set an example in terms of their behaviour, it does not mean that every detail in their personal lives should be available to the general population. For example, a politician that has a certain sexual identity must be granted with the possibilty to decide for himself if he wants that information to be shared with the public or not, like every other individual has. Secondly, publishing facts regarding the private lives of politicians might have consequences on their family members as well. In contrast to politicians themselves, their families did not choose to live a public life and should also have the right for privacy. Moreover, newspapers publishing items about the private life of a politician could cause its family to be broken apart. For instance, in my country a famous politician had to get a divorce because of a certain article in the local newspaper which reported he was having an affair. In conclusion, I strongly believe that newspapers must avoid publishing intimate details about politicians’s private lives due to their basic right for privacy and in order to minimize the potential damage to their families.