Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

TV has become our important daily life item because it is where we can get information and entertainment from. However, it arises an issue whether TV advertising directed toward children should be banned or not. Many believe that the industry should not advertise to young children as they still do not know what is good or bad for them. In contrast to this believe, I think TV advertisement for children is fine as long as there are regulations and parents’ control over the children. First of all, I believe that it is parents’ responsibility to know what their children see on the TV. Obviously, the children cannot be left alone when they watch the TV. Parents need to be on their side to see what the TV shows them to determine whether it is good or bad for their children. For example, when an advertisement appears to have a negative influence toward the child, the parents can immediately switch the channel or turn off the TV. Therefore, the child would not be affected by such advertisement. Secondly, rather than banning TV advertisement for children, I think it would be better if the government make a regulation on the content of the advertisement instead. This way, the company can still promote their product to the children in an ethical manner. The regulation should include rules such as the prohibition for the advertisement to contain explicit language or suggestion that children should force their parents to buy their products. To sum up, in my opinion, TV advertisement made for young children should be allowed and we cannot forbid companies to advertise their products. This is because parents’ are responsible to control what their children see on TV and because there is an alternative way where the government makes rules for the advertising company.