Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to keep themselves occupied on their own.

Some people feel parents should instil a love of group activities into their children for their free time. Meanwhile, others think children should be able to keep themselves busy doing their own things. Since both ways are essential for teenagers, I do suggest they should do activities both in teamwork and on their own. To commence with, parents who tend to push their children to take part in organized group activities aim to achieve team spirit and cooperation skills. To illustrate, imagine a child who is doing an activity with peers, they share thoughts and opinions that lead to strengthening their cognitive skills. Not to mention, children also have more fun when engaging in an activity with their peers rather than on their own. For example, most children prefer to play a game with a partner instead of by computer or on their own. consequently, it is another beneficial aspect of being in a group. On the other side, being able to keep themselves occupied on their own is also important for teenagers. A child needs to become a problem solver and independent in the future, for example. So he/she should have abundant space to find out the best solution and learn to occupy on his/her own. Besides this, children might be occasionally being alone and thus they should become familiar with this situation more and more. In conclusion, although it is true that the more involved children get in a group activity, the more skilled they become in team spirit, In my view, kids should also learn to be able to occupy themselves on their own if parents desired their children to become independent in the future.