Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your opinion.

Education is a part and parcel of a child’s development. Whilst others believe that home-based education is beneficial for young individuals, some would argue that sending young children to school is still the best form of learning. I concur with the latter statement. To begin with, home-schooling can be advantageous in some ways. Firstly, parents can directly monitor their child’s strengths and weaknesses when it comes to their intellectual knowledge. Thus, they know better about their child’s capacity and they can focus more on the subjects that need improvement. Secondly, they can also teach not just academic skills but also some practical skills which are beneficial for their everyday life such as fixing their bed, organizing their stuff as well as washing the dishes and even simple cooking. Moreover, they could nurture and mould their children into the person they want them to be. On the other hand, formal education is regarded as one of the best ways to achieve optimum child’s development. In school, students are being taught by professional teachers who are much more experienced in teaching diverse subjects that are within their field of expertise. Furthermore, not all parents have the ability and capacity to teach theoretical knowledge since not everyone received formal learning. To exemplify, a parent could not teach their child to read if they themselves cannot read so as with counting numbers and so on. Another thing to consider is that, their exposure to other children with different age can be of help to develop their skills because children usually hone their skills through imitation. In conclusion, although home-based learning is possible. I highly believe that going to a formal educational facility is much more advantageous in many different ways.