In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so people think they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that plastic shopping bags should be eliminated in society due to negative impacts on both of the environment on land and in water. In my perspective, although banning plastic bags is necessary for the natural environment, the society needs some conditions in order to follow a sustainable lifestyle which includes finance and culture. Firstly, in the fast-paced world, the convenience of plastic bags is favorable and using them has been a habit for a numerous number of people. Especially in Asia, plastic bags are a part of the culture due to the lifestyle which the residents have been committing for decades. In Vietnam, for example, almost everything in the country is related to plastic due to its convenient character, especially plastic bags. In particular, the major transportation in Vietnam are motorcycles and scooters, thus, plastic bags are usually hanged on the sides of the vehicle. Moreover, because purse snatching happens regularly in Vietnam, thus, plastic bag become preferable because it seems cheap and contains unvaluable goods to the thefts. Therefore, many people use plastic bags to cover their valuable belongings to ensure their safety while driving. As a result, banning plastic bags needs a long way to go for some cultures because changing habit takes a lot of time. Secondly, recycled products price usually high due to the expenses during recycling process. Therefore, sustainable lifestyle is hard for certain groups of society to follow. For instance, plastic bags are replaced by recycled bags in grocery stores, this will lead to a rise in either the groceries price or the expense of additional bags for shoppers.  In conclusion, it is undeniable that sustainable actions are necessary for the environment, in particular eliminating plastic bags. However, there are unfortunate aspects put a delay on environmentally friendly decisions.