Some people think environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that only the government is responsible for protecting the environment. From my perspective, I somewhat agree with this view. There are several reasons why I believe that authorities have the power to protect the environment. First of all, our environment faces a lot of issues such as global warming, deforestation and so on. I think that governments are able to solve those problems. For example they could invest a huge amount of money in building waste treatment systems. Another reason is that the politicians have the authority to bring in new regulations and laws. For instance, instead of warning, they can impose heavy fines on people who cut down trees to make way for accommodations, industrial zones and cause deforestation. On the other hand, I also hold the belief that the citizens are responsible for environmental protection. To begin with, littering is the main reason that leads to pollution and citizens are people who do it such as if individuals don't litter any more, the environment will not become polluted. The second reason is that they totally can proactively choose to use reusable products that will help reduce the plastic release to the environment. In particular, when citizens go shopping, they can use the cloth bag for storage. By that way, I believe that they completely reduce the quiet plastic being released into the environment. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the responsibility of protecting the environment is the obligation of both government and individuals.