Small shops in towns and villages are closing and are being replaced by big stores. Do you think it is a good or a bad trend? Explain your opinion.

In the past 50 years, a lot of small businesses have been replaced by large shopping centres. people are preferring malls because they can find everything they want in one place, on the other hand, this affects small store owners negatively. undoubtedly there are a lot of drawbacks, I believe the benefits are more substantial. To begin with, it is undeniable that big centres are preferred destination for all ages. People can find everything they want in one place and choose the most convenient product for their budget because they can easily compare the same product prices in different stores. Moreover, shopping in one place is time-saving, for example, instead of going to the market to buy groceries and then going to the pharmacy to buy some medicines, it is much way easier to find them all in one place. secondly, opening new malls in small towns plays an essential role in developing suburbs, besides providing employment opportunities to the locals. recent research in Brno done in 2020 has found that after opening the first shopping centre number of unemployed has decreased dramatically, due to the fact that this centre recruited 20% of locals in different positions in this one place such as cashiers, chefs for the restaurants, and even nurses for the first aid. in conclusion, despite the negative effects of the malls on small store owners, i believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks, finding all the needs in one place is time-saving and financially beneficial; easy to find the best price that suits own budget, not only this but also provides work positions for the poeple in the erea.