Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People have different views as to whether testing on animals for medical purposes is necessary. In my perspective, despite some people arguing that this idea should be prohibited, I firmly believe that it brings about many more benefits to society. On the one hand, it is commonly believed by some individuals that animals should not be used in science experiments for one main reason. One of the major factors to be considered is that animal life should be respected and treated equally by humans. In other words, animals have the right to live without suffering. Consequently, individuals should have the moral right to do an experiment on animals such as finding other alternative methods that do not permanently disable animals or kill them. As a result, it is fair to state that the reason for medical development does not justify the suffering of animals. On the other hand, there are three main aspects why testing on animals is crucial to our society. Firstly, it is an indispensable procedure in the scientific process in order to guarantee human safety. To be more illustrated, during the COVID-19 pandemic in 2019, scientists used several rats to test new vaccines, which was the most important medicine in the world at that time, and people required some statistics to relieve them from stress and scare of using a new medical treatment. Secondly, nowadays, scientists not only use the least suffering way to test them but also take care of them with sufficient food. Lastly, trying on animals could directly reduce the amount of animals such as rats, which increase significantly year by year, in various countries. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages to testing animals for human medicines, I am convinced that the benefits would outweigh the drawbacks overall.