Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music binds society and some even say it bring generations and cultures together. I fully agree with the opinion and will substantiate it with certain examples. Music is an art form that transcends boundaries, it doesn't discriminate based on religion, culture, creed. Moreover, it has no language, even if someone does not understand the lyrics of the song one can still enjoy the beats and the rhythm. For instance, Arabic and Spanish tunes have gained popularity across the world, even though the lyrics are not understood by all. In addition, the music cuts across generations. A soulful beat once created never gets old and is enjoyed by many age groups for years. For example, youngsters grooving on old melody as well as elders enjoying fresh beats is a very common occurrence in weddings or any other celebrations. Moreover, music can be a great ice breaker among people of different cultures. For instance, an American pop artist holding a concert in Asia and Asian artists performing in America is a classic example of how music can bind cultures together this way. Music has also helped people in tough times, be it charity events or fundraisers, crowds have gathered to listen to their favourite artists perform and contribute immensely towards noble causes. For instance, a few years back a massive earthquake jolted Haiti, millions of funds were raised via concerts by famous bands, like Linkin Park, which provided assistance to the population of Haiti who was in dire need. In conclusion, music is an excellent means to break barriers between generations and communities with different culture and language. Besides, we are living in a world facing various challenges like discrimination on colour, caste and music can be a great way of overcoming these differences and treat everyone as equals.