Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many brands use advertisements to market their products as it reaches a wider range of audience. While some are of the opinion that commercials attract the buyers to purchase products that they do not need others to say they are informative as they introduce new commodities that are essential to us. I partially agree with both viewpoints and it will be explained in detail in the forthcoming essay. Firstly, in today's world, brands spend a lot of revenue on advertisements as it has a wider reach. They keep on pushing adverts to consumers continuously with offers to lure them. Consequently, this creates a sense of need and curiosity in the minds of the people subconsciously and they will purchase the things that they do not require. Take, for example, the soft drinks and cola advertisements that are aired many times a day on television. Even though individuals are aware that these can be detrimental to their health, they still get influenced to buy them. So, commercials do play a role in people's choice of getting products they do not want. On the other hand, ads aid in the introduction of novel products that can help to ease our lives. Advertisements are the most effective visual medium to introduce a product as it provides a detailed description of the item itself. For instance, I got to know about a revolutionary women's product for hair removal through one of the commercials. Moreover, it helped to save a lot of my money and time and helped to make the entire procedure smooth and painless. The ad was so alluring that on seeing it I decided to buy it at once. Therefore, it is true that commercials help us to try out new things. To conclude, advertisements are ubiquitous in today's world. Even though it hoodwinks some people to buy stuff they don't want, it is an effective way to introduce individuals to new products.