Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The role of the government’s intervention in recycling daily waste is under debate. Some people are of the opinion that the nation should change its legal framework to make it a compulsion to enhance the recycling of waste products. Even I agree that such measures are necessary for an effect to take place. There are four important reasons to substantiate my agreement with the given statement. Firstly, society is law-abiding because they do follow the rules and regulations. To be precise, the public follows the instructions received from the honourable court and puts them into immediate practice. Secondly, the communities are afraid to break the law, as well as to get in the bad books of the officials. For example, my cousin who threw garbage on the floor was fined by the local police for his misconduct. Moreover, the introduction of a new law will change the mindset of the communities. To elaborate, it will lead to better awareness and implication of the new set of rules. In addition, a law once passed by the legislative body will remain in the system for long, thus it will ensure that the information is passed on to the next generations. To be clear, it will be incorporated in the civics subject and will be taught to children in their schools. To conclude, after having a glance at the above explanation, I strongly believe that a change in legislation is warranted for the betterment of society. It is recommended that effective recycling will save our planet in many ways.