Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Many people think that it would be very nice if we are able to do only things that we like. Obviously, we do not like to do things we dislike and we tend to avoid them. In contradict to the common idea that it would be better if we can do only the things we love, I believe that we should also do the unenjoyable work or activities. Indeed, we all have our dreams or goals we want to achieve, and it would be really great if we can accomplish them without any discomfort or difficulties. However, it is almost impossible for us to reach our dreams this way. Oftentimes, we need to deal with discomfort and unenjoyable things in order to achieve something. And usually, we are obligated to do these difficulties and we cannot skip on them. For instance, someone who wants to be a successful lawyer needs to go into college, and even if this person despises studying theories and would prefer to learn from some real cases, he still need to read his books and comprehend the theories. Without the basic knowledge, he would not be able to achieve his goal. Moreover, doing something we do not love can help us to be more mature and selfless. Sometimes we need to be patient and thoughtful with the people around us. For example, someone who is selfish, messy, and dislikes cleaning but lives in a dorm with dorm mates, still need to contribute to clean the room they live in, because she needs to be considerate to her dorm mates. This, in turn, will train her to fit into the society that requires her to be thoughtful to other people. To sum up, I believe that we cannot live only doing things we love. We ought to do things we do not like doing as well. This is because sometimes unenjoyable things are unavoidable and because they can help us to be more thoughtful to our surrounding.