Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The different parameters of a country’s success are debatable. Pertaining to this, certain advocates opine that most nations consider financial progress to be the most important target while some critics oppose the idea as they think there are other points that are of equal importance. However, in my perspective, I strongly believe that economic growth is of the highest importance amongst all. On the one hand, others are of the opinion that there are two major types of progress that are of paramount importance. Firstly, educational progress is considered to be a great parameter because only an educated nation can lead the world. For example, Japan has the highest literacy rate and is supposed to highly advanced on all fronts. Secondly, progress in defence forces is again very important as a country should be self-sufficient to not only defend themselves but also others in difficult times. To elaborate, the USA has one of the largest armies in the world to protect them as well as to maintain peace globally. On the other hand, others and I believe that economic progress is more important than anything else for two reasons. To begin, it’s the basis of all other projects as the country can fund any particular mission only if they have adequate resources. To illustrate, India could spare money for the Mars Mission only because they are economically stable and have enough money. Moreover, the improved economic stability makes the state independent and need not depend on the world bank or the western world for support. To be precise, they can decide for themselves and focus on further development rather than begging for enormous loans. In conclusion, after having a glance at the above explanation, I truly feel that monetary freedom is of utmost importance in many ways. It is recommended that only a financially sound country can reallocate funds for the progress of the other areas.