In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Many argue that it is a crucial thing to own a residence instead of renting one. I totally agree with that statement because the home rates are going to increase year by year hence having our own home gives us a sense of stability and security more than renting one. Lately, the price of residences has climbed up extremely especially in big cities. This phenomenon makes inhabitants can not afford their residences without taking any mortgages. Consequently, they have to as soon as possible buying their residences rather than renting one because it will need mostly more than 15 years to pay the mortgages. If the inhabitants do not take the mortgages quickly, it will be much more difficult to pay in the future when they are not in a productive phase. Meanwhile, renting a residence for a long time is a waste of money because along with the rising home rate trend, the annual payment for renting a residence is also going to increase. Furthermore, owning a residence will secure inhabitants's living, especially when they retire from their offices for some reason. For instance, when civil workers have entered their retirement, they will only earn a small amount of money as their monthly wages. For some inhabitants who still have non-productive family members such as children and elders, that amount of money will not be enough to cover their monthly expenses including paying mortgages. Thus, if they have already owned their residences, their financials after retirement will be more stable and secure. In conclusion, because as time goes by, the cost needed to own a residence is extremely high, I completely agree that having a residence instead of renting one will make inhabitants more secure and stable in the long run.