Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While many individuals think that there should be a standardization of sentences for each crime, others argue that every crime should be discussed in their specific scenario with the motivation behind the reason, therefore the punishment should be given differently. In my opinion, although fixed punishment can be a viable solution for corruption and bribery, the motivation for committing a crime should be considered in order to make an accurate judgment. The aim of this essay is to discuss the debate with the merits and the demerits. On the one hand, fixed sentences can be a beneficial resolution to solve the problem of corruption and bribery. By doing this, an equal decision can be taken by the courts and judges due to the fairness of the stable punishment. Furthermore, the fixed sentences have the potential to solve the over-familiarity problem in,especially rural areas. For instance, plenty of people have been judged unfairly in Turkey and the court took the side of the offender in many cases owing to over-familiarity. Consequently, fixed punishments can minimize the scope of the court about their decision however, it can be a key to solve problematic issues such as bribery, corruption and over-familiarity. On the other hand, it is important to bear in mind that the wrong decision can be made by the authorities. In this way, innocent people can be judged unfairly. For example, many people have been sentenced to life imprisonment in the USA and there are some wrong decisions that can be observed. Thus, it can cost a life of a person. Moreover, as an advantageous point, the reason behind the crime can change in each circumstance. To illustrate that killing a person without reason should not equal to killing a person for defending purposes should not be taken in the same way. Hence, there are some unfair judgments in some cases nevertheless, the motivation for committing may change and the punishment should be considered from every angle. To summarize, some individuals claim that the fixed punishment should be considered for each crime. Others discuss that the motivation for committing a crime should be taken to account before deciding. This essay demonstrated that although fixed sentences can be a resolution for some problematic issue, there are various reasons for committing a crime and they should be taken into account in order to make a decision correctly.