Some countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. To what extent is this a positive or negative trend?

A great number of foods are imported from other nations in some countries. It can be advantageous and disadvantageous. In this essay, I am going to examine both sides. On the one hand, there are several benefits when food from other countries comes in. First, it is likely to help customers to have wider options when they choose foods. It is because there will be abundant vegetables and fruits that it is difficult to find in some countries. For example, in Korea where tropical fruits such as bananas, mangos and papayas are harsh to find, since 10 years ago, the government has imported more diverse kinds of tropical fruits each year. Thanks to this, people can enjoy various overseas fruits although they do not go to other countries. Second, it can help to resolve a lack of food all over the world. It is because a great number of countries can import foods that they need, which is the best way to relieve the shortage of food. For example, in Korea where we do not produce a large amount of meat due to small land, since meat is consumed more and more over time, the government should import lots of one from the United States and Australia. On the other hand, I believe there are more drawbacks to this phenomenon. Firstly, It can cause environmental issues because of waste food. This is because since there are a lot of foods that are imported from foreign countries, people may not realize the value of food. For example, in some developed countries such as the USA and UK where bring numerous foods through other nations, a lot of food is wasted in restaurants and at home every day. Despite various efforts, it still remains a big issue. Secondly, these foods have a negative impact on our health. This is because to keep fresh conditions people usually add a preservative which can cause cancer and other diseases during movement by ships and planes. For example, a few years ago, in Korea, there was an issue related to hazardous imported agricultural products as these included more pesticides than standard. However, although the Korean government made strict standards, it is hard to handle. In conclusion, this trend can be surely advantageous to extend the choice of food and to resolve a lack of food. However, it may not always be positive, It can be harsh for the environment as it will make huge waste foods. Moreover, since imported foods contain toxic additives, these products are detrimental to our health.