Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It has been observed that the majority of the inmates carry out more offences after being released from police custody. This essay will discuss the reasons for this development which include lack of employment opportunities and inherent liking towards carrying out unlawful activities. It will also suggest solutions that are providing financial aid as well as appropriate counselling to former prisoners. The foremost explanations to this problem are mainly two. One of them is the non-availability of jobs, that is, employers hesitate to hire a former criminal because of which it becomes extremely challenging for them to find a legitimate source of income. Hence, due to lack of money offenders resort to commiting crimes all over again. Another reason is that many criminals have inherent liking towards carrying out unlawful actitvities. After serving their term in the jail, their irresistible urge to harm others intensifies because of which they conduct more offences. For instance, a report released by The Times newspaper stated that a deranged imprisoner behind the bars, self-mutilated as he was not able to budge the compulsion of killing someone. Furthermore, the first measure to tackle this problem is that the government should subsidize these defaulters for 2-3 months after release, so that they can seek for a job without worrying about overheads. Developed countries, for instance, provide financial help along with basic amenities to deter ex-criminals from returning back to the previous unethical methods of earning money. Another method is to send people with the impulse of hurting others to rehabilitation centres, where they can be counselled and treated. Moreover, rehab would change their way of thinking and outlook towards life, and therefore avert thrm from attempting any illicit actions. In conclusion, most of the previous offenders after release from prison re-attempt crimes because of the unemployment and the affinity for bloodshed. However, this can be tackled if government provide monetary help until they get employed and put them into rehab during their time at the jail for counselling.