More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programmes to get their news and instead read online. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present day, the internet creates various methods for people to receive daily news. Although it is convenient for young people by using the internet to read news, for elderly people, it is difficult to learn how to accept news online. For young people, it is so convenient to read the news online. They could accept news from any devices connected to internets, such as cell phones, tablets, or laptops. They could read the news anywhere anytime, which provides much convenience to them to understand what is happened around their city. For example, I tend to check local news applications every morning in my car before I drive to my company, especially the local traffic news. It helps me to choose the best route to my office and also to avoid the congested road. Therefore, the internet could assistant people to gain news instantly. However, for old people, the situation is totally opposite. Because old people are not familiar with using smartphones or tablets, it turns into a hard way to accept news on electronic devices. And also, for elder generations, it is impossible to learn a completely strange concept at their age. Thus, they still prefer to read news on traditional media, such as newspapers. For example, because of the aging society in Japan, there are a lot of old people supporting traditional media. They still buy the newspaper every morning, so the traditional media still have a great number of customers. In conclusion, choosing internet media is a part of positive development for young people in society. It brings a lot of convenience to young people to receive the daily news. But, for old people, it may be not an instant approach to gain news.