It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the Internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although some opponents maintain that culture can be learned from the media without visiting the actual places, I believe that presenting yourself in the culture is a better way to embrace different cultures. Culture is not only about scenery and architecture, but also the real experiences of how and why residents of the place react and think differently make travelling a fascinating adventure. In my personal experience, I knew Japanese people are very polite through introductions of the country; however, it was not until I had to bow many times a day and got a sore back there to understand the level of politeness. I knew Spain as a passionate country through football, bullfighting and flamenco dance, but this could not be compared to the help I got on the wrong bus with all passengers, who spoke no English, communicating with a lot of gestures and convinced the driver to drop me near my hostel. Of course images, videos and guide books offer details and explanations about the culture of the destination, but the physical experience is of better understanding. For example, a sunny afternoon picnic under sakura blossoms with my local friends was an amazing moment of the sakura season for me in Japan. Food is another point for people to travel. Your own taste buds are more trustworthy than any travel show hosts. Taiwan, for instance, is famous for several iconic snack dishes such as stinky tofu which you can have only locally and served freshly. In conclusion, information from the media is no comparison to actual cultural experiences in different places and people should opt travel over media if affordable.