Some people believe that not all criminals should be kept in prison but that some of them should be allowed to do unpaid work to help the community do you agree or disagree?

There is a certain group of persons who reckons that rather than deploying culprits into a prison, a few of them should be given an opportunity to do volunteering work for aiding society. I am in accord with the second statement where offenders would be allowed to do the social work for the community. I will illustrate my perspectives with suitable examples in the following paragraphs. To begin with, although delinquents are useless to society because of their deeds which have an adverse effect on us, in some cases the situation becomes worst, hence the masses can not resist them from committing a crime. Sometimes, these people can be changed by guiding them to do some social actions towards the society as doing charity work. For illustration, in our city, Ahmedabad, a group of lawbreakers do the cleaning works at public places over the weekends. Moreover, this type of development can be diminished the delinquency of the criminals and in some cases, they can think twice before committing the crimes again. As a result, by taking such actions not only change the nature of criminal but also helps the society in a broader way. Furthermore, putting offenders like pocket pickers, theifs, etc. into prison can not beneficial for society as well as the government, thus such culprits do not understand the impact of the crime which they have done earlier. But, government take appropriate actions against them such as instead of putting them into prison, allowing them to do some educational work that can be helpful to society. For example, Kiran Bedi, a first lady IPS(Indian Police Services) officer who guided more than 100 criminals and under her guidance, became social activists to support the government school's students in their educations. As a consequence, the number of criminal cases reduced in the Tihar district and the literacy rate of children increase drastically due to such charitable's work done by the lawbreakers. To conclude, Every criminal is not bad for society, hence putting all of them in a lockup which does not an excellent idea. However, in some cases, a criminal should be given a chance to work for volunteering to the society which indeed a fruitful outcome towards reducing the crime from the society.