In recent years, many small local shops have closed because consumers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Due to constructions of huge shopping malls people tend to shop from these centres instead of choosing tiny grocery stores and many small scale stores are badly affected owing to this trend. In my opinion this is a positive development progress. Initially, this essay will discuss more employment opportunities in these centres and then availability of international brands. To begin with, the foremost positive impact of the big shopping centres is that number of jobless people hired by these stores. There people can get job in various categories such as security, cleaners and customers care. As a result, it helps to reduce the unemployment from the globe. For instance, a survey conducted recently by BBC News as revealed that 27% of the world illiterate workless population are working in vast shopping stores and earning income to survive in this world. Therefore, unemployment has been reducing gradually by various large shopping malls. Besides, the second positive development of this trend is that our society became more consumerism. Customers are able to obtain their favorite brands from these stores which are not possible to get through small shops. Consequently, they can consume those things which are only consumed by foreigners. For example, several malls have branded clothing stores such as Nike, addidas Addidas or Gucci and young generation prefer to wear these types clothes due to easy accessibility through big shopping centres. Hence, these complexes are satisfying the consumers needs which is the essential motto of this development. To conclude, this essay supports the idea that there are more positive elements than negative in the terms of getting jobs and fulfilling consumers requirement with imported items and these both things are difficult to provide by small shops. Thus, I consider this to be a positive development overall.