Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development; however, others think the social value is lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Every country seeks for development of its economy to improve the overall standard of living of its citizens, which makes the country stronger at a global level. While this may initially seem to be astonishing for many people, it leads to the loss of social values and ethics that cannot be overlooked. Fostering economic growth may have certain advantages to the public. This is because the developed economy may offer advance medical facilities such as hospitals, emergency ambulance services, advanced medical equipment, which can increase life expectancy. Not only the medical facilities which are vital, offering a higher standard of education may develop a more skilled workforce with a higher salary package, as a result of which they may have a better standard of living. Furthermore, infrastructural developments could improve the lifestyle of people, such as shopping malls, which offer incredible shopping experience under one roof. Hence, developmental activities might be beneficial for the country. However, this can cause a loss of the social value system of the society. Most importantly, the development of the economy means more work by people, which will demand them to sit back late in the office and work, because of which their family time and social life will cut off. Consequently, if parents do not give attention to their children during their young age, they can come under the bad influence of peers and eventually get involved in an antisocial activity or juvenile delinquency, for instance, drugs and alcohol drinking. Moreover, when community become materialistic, they lose their emotional sense, due to which their connection with friend and relatives diminishes. Thus, social values are tremendously affected in the process of development. In conclusion, it is evident that, although people might support the developmental activities which may be beneficial, its disadvantages are immensely experienced on people by losing social values and ethics. If we want our society to keep the social norms alive, we must limit the developmental initiatives which cause great damage to it.