Some people think that the best wat to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative wats or reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Criminal activities eventually bring problems, not success. A highly controversial issue is discussed, that the government should take strict action against juvenile offenders to reduce the rapidly increasing crime activities, while others believe there are many ways to control the rising crime rate instead of giving harsh punishment. I firmly support this notion. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss both perspectives and present my own opinion. To begin with, some argue that long prison terms can reduce the rate of crime because it creates fear of strict action. When people realise that if they do anything against the law, they will be punished for many years, they may stop themselves and think before acting badly. For instance, this idea is strong for serious crimes such as murder, rape and armed robbery.If people know that there will be no strictness against any violation, then people keep doing offensive activities, which badly effects on young generation. On the other hand, some people believes that only prison for the long time may not fix this problem. Many people commit crimes because of poverty, lack of education, bad family relations or unemployment. The government should announce rehabilitation and preventive measures for young adults. Another way could be to raise public awareness against crime and educate offenders in jail. The government should keep checking on juvenile and if there is any positivity in their behaviour, they should be given a chance to get employment and support their families. For example, Juvenile delinquency is increasing because some teenagers are influenced by bad company and social media. To conclude, it is true that there are various ways to control crime, and longer prison sentences are not a solution. Some crimes are serious, and some are small. A balanced system is best. Strict action should be taken against those who are violent offenders or serious and habitual criminals, but for small and first-time crimes, prevention and rehabilitation are more effective to reduce crime rate