Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

It is argued by some that homework is a crucial part of the education children receive in school, while other think that the idea of homework should be cancelled. This essay believes that although homework can create a sense of responsibility among children, the potential damage they can cause to the self-esteem of weaker students outwieghs outweigh its benefits. The idea of dealing with a task such as homework can develop a sense of responsibility among young students. The fact that learners independently must find the time to prepare their homework, instead of playing on the computer or watching television, can lead to them being more responsible. For example, since my son started attending the first grade in school and to prepare his homework regularly, I feel that he gained responsibility in other aspects as well, such as home chors and taking care of his younger brother. On the other hand, homework might create tension and stress among certain students. Weaker learners or those who do not have the luxury of getting helped by parents or other siblings can develop a low self-esteem if they do not have the ability of dealing with that task properly. This situation could negatively affect their progress as students. For instance, when I was a student in high school, I faced a difficulty with preforming homework in math and I felt it had a bad impact on my confidence. In conclusion, despite the fact that homework can transform a student to be more responsible, in my opinion, homework should be eliminated due to the adverse effect they might have on weaker learners.