Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money would be better spent elsewhere . To what extent do you agree with this view?

A section of the society is of the opinion that the government should allocate funds on basic needs rather than spending money on arts. From my perspective, public services need more funding but it should not be at the cost of the arts. This essay will give reasons on both the views. The first and foremost reason to promote art is that it depicts the cultural values of the nation and reminds the value of arts. Secondly, art aids in attracting the tourist which ultimately develops the tourist sector. Consequently, the government can generate more revenue. It also helps the country to take pride and portrays the positive picture of the country at the global level. Thirdly, the new generations get connected to the culture through ancient artistic sculptures and paintings. In that case, art is considered as a bridge between the generations. Finally, the artist get an opportunity to showcase their work which leads to enhancement of creativity. Moreover, when any antique work gets recognised by the world, an artist gets honored. However, the government should spend huge amount on healthcare and education as these are the fundamental requirements of every citizen. Before allocating funds towards arts, the governing body should consider the maintenance cost. The government should also give emphasis on development of infrastructure and transport system. In a nutshell, I am of the opinion that government should distribute its funds equally to all sectors including its because every sector has its own contribution towards the development of a nation. Therefore, allocation of funds towards public services is of paramount importance in the development of country