Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is considered by some that in order to secure a high-income job, one should get a tertiary education to obtain a degree, while there are others who think that gaining knowledge on the job is more useful. In my opinion, I believe that university qualification is more valuable than experience, even if the job is not related to the field of study. On the one hand, some argue that having a university degree benefits people in getting a high-paying job. One reason behind this is that studying in university is an efficient way to acquire knowledge. Through lectures and group projects, tasks are assigned by professors who have expert levels of knowledge and teaching techniques, which promotes student’s learning to a great extent. Therefore, a learning outcome is more significant if one studies to get a degree than learning as they work, and this leads university graduates to a better job. On the other hand, it is better for individuals to develop skills through on-the- job training if they want to achieve a bigger career goal, according to some. One explanation for this is that many of the competencies needed for high-paying jobs are universal. Examples of these include communication skills, teamwork abilities, and basic IT skills. By starting a job as early as possible instead of going to college, one can build experience while acquiring practical skills and knowledge. Lastly, my own view is that obtaining a university degree is more advantageous than beginning to work early, regardless of the area of expertise one chooses. This is because a university qualification is not only proof of their knowledge in their chosen subject, but also it shows employers that they are capable of communicating effectively with others, thinking logically and managing schedules. However, this is as long as they study at a university that provides students with various learning opportunities, such as a wide range of assignments and internship recommendations, which will prepare students for the competitive job market. In conclusion, both getting a degree and early employment bring their own benefits. I think that getting a qualification in a well-established course will give people the most advantages.