All over the world societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. Obesity affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How can it be tackled?

Nowadays, the percentage of both children and adults who suffer from obesity is greater than ever before. The reasons for this trend might be the ever-growing popularity of the fast food industry and the lack of proper education relating to eating habits among the younger age. Nevertheless, an increase in the amount of money invested on public awareness concerning obesity and its possible dangers could be the solution. The fast food industry has grown considerably in recent years. The type of food served in these types of restaurants usually contains a high percentage of fats, and consuming large amounts of that food would eventually lead to obesity. For example, in countries which fast food is banned, such as North Korea, the proportion of fat individuals is relatively low. In addition, another cause for the rise in obesity might be the lack of education regarding the preferred eating habits among children. Eating habits are hard to change in more advanced stages of life and currently, not enough is being done on the subject within younger ages. For instance, the rate of fat youngsters in my city has dropped significantly since a proper educational program about food and eating habits has been initiated at the local school. However, investing a greater amount on money on public awareness might be the solution. In the current times, it is relatively easy to change the public’s mindset on a certain issue, if enough money is being spent. For example, in my country the rate of obesity has decreased substantialy following a successful television advertisment explaning the dangers of obesity. In conclusion, the increased rate of fat individuals is due to the enormous popularity of the fast food industry and the lack of education regarding healthy eating habits in schools, whereas the solution might be a larger investment on public awarness.