In many countries, traditional foods are being replaced by international fast foods. This is having a negative effect on both families and societies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, fast food from other countries is taking precedence over the traditional food we used to have. Some argue that this is having a bad effect on families as well as society as a whole. I do not agree with such an argument as there are both negatives and positives associated with these changes in food habits. With the tremendous increase in globalization over the years, the food that we eat is not limited to traditional dishes as we have more and more variety of global dishes available at our behest. There has been a huge surge in the number of fast- foodfood franchise that has opened in recent years. For example, Mcdonalds, the American burger restaurant chain is now spread across the world and have their stores in almost every area of the world. Moreover, these days youngsters prefer international fast food over staple dishes of their region. For instance, Indian youngsters prefer an American burger or an Italian pizza over the staple diet of rice or wheat. There are some positives associated with this such as, choice of the variety of dishes has increased, in addition, as these dishes are available across the world, a person travelling to some other country won't face difficulties in finding a familiar meal in any part of the world. For instance, the local food for India and Germany is very different and yet due to the availability of fast food joints, it is possible to have a filling meal even in remote areas. However, this shift in food habits is causing the decline and extinction of many cultural or traditional dishes. Moreover, some junk food is unhealthy and is causing health problems like obesity across the world. For instance, India is famous for spices and various types of herbs but is seeing a decline in consumption due to the advent of global food choices. In conclusion, although, there are a few negative effects of the rapid increase in consumption of fast food over traditional meals, yet, positives such as easy and cheap availability all over the world outweighs the disadvantages.