Some parents believe that extra private lesson outside school hours, where students work alone with a teach, can help them do better at school. Others disagree. What are the advantages and disadvantages of private tuition? And give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued among parents that sending students to private tuition, is a good choice to boost their children's knowledge, whereas others believe it to be the opposite. Both sides have valid reasons for them and I will be discussing them in my essay. To begin with, the pros of extra classes are numerous. Firstly, students won't be studying alone as they will be around a tutor to help them out during a problem and, this will assure the guardians that the teenager is not messing around, but giving extra concentration on the academic side. Secondly, apart from school lessons, students will gain more knowledge on the subject and that will make them score good and broaden their way of thinking. Another reason could be time management, parents might want their students to spend some fractions of time in study only and, sending to a private mentor would make their children more organised and will learn to manage time, down the line. On the contrary, some parents argue the fact that spending more time on studies is all but, waste of money. For instance, if a child is more inclined toward physical activity and has a good career in it, he won't be concentrating in private classes at all, but frittering away his parent's money. Also, studying outside school hours could make them feel swamped and they will get less time to play outdoors. Additionally, this could become a family pressure if, a child is made to take extra classes to become the top of the class. In my opinion, extra lessons are not required if a student is already enrolled on the subject in school. This would make them redo the same topics over and over and some students might get irritated and this could bring anger to them not to mention stress. For instance, if a student is under pressure and is made to aim for the first prize, he could take a wrong decision, maybe he could cheat in exams. To conclude, both sides have valid arguments, if private tuition is fruitful to a graduate's life or if it is disadvantaging to him. However, the second case has more weight than the first.